La Conner Swinomish Library Board of Trustees Meeting July 11, 2023 5:00 pm

Attendance:

Board Members: Robert Hancock, Lisa James, Stephanie Banaszak, Sarah Christensen,

Susan Macek

Library Director: Jean Markert

Guests: Jackie Brunson, Skagit County Treasurer, Bridget Ibarra, Chief Deputy Treasurer, Sue

Widdop

Call to Order: Susan Macek called the meeting to order at **5:04** pm.

Public Comment: None

Skagit County Treasurer Question and Answer

Jackie Brunson, the Skagit County Treasurer and Bridget Ibarra explained to the board the role of the Treasurer's office in our library finances. They answered questions from the board on our annual and monthly finances.

Review of minutes: Lisa moved to approve the minutes of the May board meeting, and Robert seconded the motion. It passed unanimously.

Director's report: See the attached report.

One highlight from Summer Reading is Ray Soriano's drumming program.

The Book Nook is up and running.

The Friends of the Library is running this and has already sold books.

There is a new display of Quilts from the Quilt and Fiber Arts Museum.

Shelving signs for the library will be installed by October.

Financial Report

Building Costs: \$382

Operations Expenditure subtotal: \$3,853

Payroll: \$22,045

Total Expenditures: \$26,279

Sarah moved to approve the payroll and vouchers for June and Robert seconded it. It passed unanimously.

New Business:

The Dedication Celebration will be on October 7 or 14. Susan proposed doing a Strategic Planning Meeting

Sarah moved to approve the Public Comment Policy and Robert seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Board Training is on Saturday, August 5, 2023.

Sarah moved to approve the revised version of the Bylaws of the Board of Trustees and **Robert** seconded the motion. It passed unanimously.

Art Committee Report:

Sylvia Strong donated a Clayton James sculpture to the library. Sheila Johnson with the La Conner Arts Commission, helped facilitate the donation.

Robert moved, and Sarah seconded a motion to adjourn the meeting at 6:49.

Lisa James, Trustee	Robert Hancock, Secretary
Susan Macek, Chair	Sarah Christensen, Treasurer
Stephanie Banaszak, Trustee	