La Conner Swinomish Library Board of Trustees Meeting February 14, 2023 5:00 pm

In Attendance Board Members: Robert Hancock, Jim Airy, Sarah Christensen, Lisa James Library Director: Jean Markert Foundation Director: Susan Macek Guests: Ken Stern

Call to Order: Jim Airy called the meeting to order at 5:06 pm.

Public Comment: There have been a lot of positive comments from patrons and visitors.

Review of minutes: Robert moved to approve the minutes of the December board meeting, and Jim seconded the motion. It passed unanimously.

Sarah moved to approve Lisa James as a member of the La Conner Swinomish Library Board of Trustees. Jim seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Director's report: Jean and Katryna hosted a Valentine's Day Party. It was well attended and fun.

Jean presented the 2023 Operating Plan that provided the key areas of focus. The emphasis on this year's strategic plan is our financial plan and budget. All areas of focus of the strategic plan are being addressed this year. Determining the cost to operate our new library is why the focus is on financial planning.

Jean introduced the 2023 Annual Financial Plan Summary. This report is a high-level forecast of revenue, expenses and includes Skagit County balances.

Jean presented the 2023 budget report including the January expenditures. Financial Reports: Building Costs: \$2,003 Operations Expenditure subtotal: \$7,715 Payroll: \$21,258 **Total Expenditures: \$30,976**

Robert moved to approve the payroll and expenditures for January, Sarah seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

New Business:

Ken Stern spoke to the board about the La Conner Weekly News paper box being located on the library property.

Foundation Report: The Foundation Director position is posted. Library Giving Day is on April 4, 2023.

Old Business:

Robert moved to change the name of the library from La Conner Regional Library to the La Conner Swinomish Library. Sara seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Robert moved, and Sarah seconded a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:10 to move into executive session.

Lisa James, Trustee

Robert Hancock, Secretary

Jim Airy, Chair

Sarah Christensen, Treasurer